top of page
Search

The Value of a Heartfelt Review

When I first started out writing my debut novel Chasing Butterflies I just had a story to tell. It wasn't about anyone else, it wasn't about readers or genres or demographics.


My characters developed as I wrote and became almost real. I knew how each would react in given situations. I knew their strengths and their weaknesses.


I was well aware that my main character Hope was a very flawed character. She can appear selfish, distant and ungrateful towards those who show her kindness. It was my hope that readers would care about her and her journey. That they would root for her as she battled with her own personal demons.


When I hit the button on Amazon's KDP system to publish my book I felt the flutter of butterflies. The book I had created with love was out there for others to see, to read it and to make judgements. The underlying thought was "I hope people like it." I wasn't sure I had what it takes to read any negative feedback. So much so that I considered pulling it altogether and consigning it to my bottom drawer, safe in the knowledge that I had achieved my goal, I had written a book.


But for me it wasn't enough to just write a book. I wanted people to read it. I wanted people to love it, so despite my fears I didn't pull the book. I went one further and I started to market it.


I was met by requests from other indie authors to "read for read" or "review for review" but this just didn't sit right with me. I understand those who do it and if that works for you then hey, go ahead, good luck. But for me it wasn't enough to just have people read it because they had agreed to read it. For me I wanted people to feel free to read a few pages then set it aside if they didn't love it. I wanted those who read it to feel compassion and care for my characters. I wanted my readers to fall in love with Hope, Ben, Jo-Jo and Mike, maybe even Helen.


So I only once agreed to "read for read" back in the first few days of publication. Since then the reviews have filtered in slowly. But the words that have been written come from people who truly loved my book. They were gripped by the rollercoaster of emotions and they wanted to get to the end to find out how the story ends. Many say they're looking forward to the prequel.


I hope at least some of my readers had that moment when they finished the book where they felt bereft because the journey was over.


If you would like to read my book then I truly hope you enjoy it. If you do then please take a moment or two to write a short review on Goodreads and Amazon, if nothing else it will put a spring in my step for a day or two.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Year of Covid

It's almost a full year since the UK went into the first national lockdown in order to reduce the spread of Covid 19. This time last year we were all speculating about the steps needed to curb the spr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page