top of page
Search

Paid Author Services - Are they worth what you pay?

“If someone has the time to spam hundreds of authors every day to offer paid reviews, then they’re probably not spending that much time actually reading and reviewing your work” – Nicole Thorne




Being an indie author can be tough. Sure, you can write a great book that will keep readers riveted, but only if they pick up the book in the first place.


So many indie authors publish their books amid a great deal of buzz and excitement, only to find that their masterpieces sit in the unread archives of Amazon for weeks or sometimes months without so much as a KENP page read.


You’ve tried all of the free book promotion Facebook pages, but let’s face it, they’re filled with other authors, all trying to get their books noticed too. Yes of course other authors do pick up books from indie authors, but if you want your book to be a best-seller, you’re going to have to try harder.


Twitter is great for writer’s lifts, connecting with other authors and using Instagram to gain a following are all helpful, but incredibly time-consuming. Most new indie authors also have to hold down a full-time job, this doesn’t leave much time for walks in the park with the kids!


Amazon and Facebook ads may seem helpful, but they can be costly and difficult to get right.


The great thing about indie authors though, is that they’re so bloody supportive of one another. They root for you and want you to get things right! There are great writing communities on Instagram and Twitter. Personally, I have met some really lovely people who are very supportive of me in my writing career.


The question is, when you have a limited budget, just where should you spend the money?

Any indie author will tell you that there are lots of people out there who are making a good living by offering a range of author services. As a new indie author, it can be difficult to work out which ones are worth spending your money on.


Like me, most indie authors will have found that they have been messaged by people offering to review your book. There is a great little Bookstagram community on Instagram. Some of the newer reviewers may contact indies asking for free copies in exchange for an honest review. So far, so good. The reviewer gets lots of lovely books to read and the author gets a little exposure.


There are people out there who offer to do this for a fee. I can’t speak for anyone else out there, but when I wrote my books it wasn’t so I could pay other people to read them! But, when I was contacted by an Instagrammer recently I started to become curious. I wondered what was involved, how much it would cost and what sort of exposure I would get. I wasn’t interested in the review itself, but when daksh.reviewer contacted me on Instagram and I checked out his 16600 strong Instagram following, I began to wonder what it was all about and whether someone with a strong following like that could get my book the exposure I needed.


After a few messages back and forth I agreed to a review on Instagram. I was given a time frame of 5 to 7 days. Daksh had included the cost of the ebook in his fee and I found that there was a sale from India shortly afterwards. I was explicit though that I did not want him to post anywhere else. I did not want an Amazon review. Amazon has very strict policies on reviews, quite rightly so. If they find anyone buying or swapping reviews then they may suspend your account. That’s not a risk worth taking in my view. Besides what Amazon has to say, buying reviews just doesn’t seem right for me. I want honest reviews from people who have read my books because they wanted to.


For me, buying a review was an experiment more than anything else. I had been contacted so many times by people offering reviews that I felt I needed to know what it was all about first hand and then I needed to share my experiences with others.



 

“I usually don’t post on Amazon as I know it’s against policy” – read_by_heart @ instagram


I had decided to do some research into the whole paid review scene so I replied to a number of reviewers who had contacted me over the previous few weeks and asked if they would mind answering some questions I had for an article I hoped to write. Pretty much silence.


One reviewer, read_by_heart did kindly agree to answer my questions, here’s what we discussed….


What services do you offer to authors?

Book review and promotional posts, author’s interview


How long have you been offering author services?

From past 6 months


How do your services help the author?

I promote author’s book on various platforms such as Instagram, blog etc so it helps in increasing book’s visibility.


How much do you charge for your services?

$50 for the review on various platforms and $50 for interview and $30 for promotional post


How many followers do you have on Instagram?

18K


How did you build this following? / How long did it take?

I organised lots of giveaways with fellow reviewers, I participated in follow train to build readers community, also promoted my page on various other reviewer’s page.


How many books do you normally read in a week?

6-7


Have you always been an avid reader?

Yes, as a media studies student I was always in reading and stuff.


Who is your favourite author?

There are so many. Not just one. Khushwant Singh, Amrita Pritam, Megan Miranda etc…


Which genre do you prefer to read?

I read and review all genres.


Are there any indie authors whose books have stood out to you?

Darcie Chan – The Book That Was Filed In The Drawer


What do you do if you read a book and find that it is filled with plot holes?

I don’t personally write them in promotional post but I do tell authors about that.


If you could give authors one piece of advice what would it be?

I’m no one to give advice, but ya…. Write what makes you excited and the enthusiasm will come through on the page….


One last question….

How do you feel about Amazon and its policies surrounding reviews? Do you worry that by offering your service you are potentially harming the author’s relationship with Amazon as a distributor?

I usually don’t post on Amazon as I know it’s against policy. If I genuinely like the book I myself drop a review there. Or if the author himself/ herself says me to do so… then only I post Review otherwise not.


A number of things struck me about our little conversation, not least that he had built up an Instagram following of 18000 in just six months! There were a lot of references to other reviewers and follow trains, which did leave me wondering just how valuable these reviews are. Who exactly is reading the reviews and does paying for these services on Instagram lead to any sales?


 

I decided to ask a few author friends to share their experiences…


I wouldn’t recommend any promotion services to my fellow authors unless I know for sure that people will buy their books.” – Erna Weissman


Erna Weissman has been writing fiction for ten years, but was new to self publishing in January 2020. So far, she has published three books, “Venturing into Darkness”, “The Devil’s Sergent” and “The Legend of Damian Bloodstone”

Erna was approached by a reviewer on Instagram.


She says…

They all practically said the same thing. You know, promises of exposing my book to their followers and what have you.. I’m by no means a naïve person. I’ve been a critical thinker since early childhood. When these people came to me, I did the only thing that makes sense: DM all of the promotors previous clients and see if they were satisfied with the services. Sure enough, they all had good things to say about these services. That’s why I accepted the offers.

The prices varied between promotional services. The cheapest was $15 per book review and the most expensive was $50 per book review. Some even did a bundle deal for all three of my books.


However, Erna says…

I wouldn’t recommend any promotion services to my fellow authors unless I know for sure that people will buy their books.

After everything that’s happened, I’m no longer going to pay squat for book reviews. I’m only doing free reviews. Unless of course they are paid promotions that actually do get people to buy my books.


I asked Erna if she worried about Amazon suspending her account. I explained that their terms and conditions state that paid reviews may lead to authors being banned or suspended.

Erna said…

Well, in that case, maybe it’s a good thing that these services didn’t follow through on the Amazon reviews.


 

There are other ways though that you can spend money wisely in order to raise the profile of your books. I asked fellow Indie Author Sue Bordley what her take was.


The only author service I would recommend that authors use is hiring a proof-reader.” – Sue Bordley


Sue is an experienced indie author. She has published two novels under the pen name Jess Molyneux aimed at teenage girls. She has also published two romcoms under her real name. “Rescue Me” and “Sort Your Life Out Laura Bishoprick.


I asked Sue if she had any experience with paid reviewers, here is what she had to say…..

Book reviewers have sent me DMs on Instagram. I’ve never replied to any of them. I wouldn’t want to buy reviews because it’s not realistic or fair.


I asked Sue if she had ever used any other author services, here’s what she had to say…

The only author service I would recommend that authors use is hiring a proof-reader. Get a professional to iron out any technical issues and you’re much more likely to get those all-important reviews coming in!



 



Surely, with so many people out there offering reviews, there must be some authors with positive experiences?


“Editorial reviews are a powerful marketing tool but only from a reputable source.” – T.A. Bruno

I spoke to T.A. Bruno, author of the “In the Orbit of Sirens” series about his experiences of review sites.


How did you hear about the book review service being offered? I did some research on various editorial houses to figure out which were legit and which weren't worth the money. What was your first impression?

Editorial reviews are a powerful marketing tool but only from a reputable source. There were a few I came across that didn't seem great, but going with the right ones, I felt good jumping in. Did you take the plunge?

Yes. Which services did you use and why?

Kirkus,Literary Titan, Self-Publishing Review, and a few more. How much did it cost?

Each was different. Some were under $100, and some were more expensive, like Kirkus, which clocked in around $400. I may also add that spending is a risk. Each offers an honest review, so if your book isn't up to par with their standards then you blow $400 to hide a review from seeing the light of day.


Did the promotion lead to any additional sales?

Some sales yes, but more importantly, marketing opportunities which led to sales. Being able to show a good review from Kirkus is worth the high entry price. It also provided some validation as a writer for me Would you recommend author services to other writers?

Yes. It was not only great to help market the book, but it provided excellent insight. Be warned that it can be risky and it's not an automatic GOOD REVIEW guarantee. Also, start smaller before jumping on something like Kirkus. What is your overall impression of people who offer book reviews for a fee?

It depends. Editorial reviews provide great service from a respected company. While a singular reviewer might have a big following, it's hard to determine how "pay to win" they can be. I haven't paid a singular reviewer to review my book, but I have sent free copies to some book reviewers on Instagram just because I like and respect them. Many have become friends in the process. What they chose to do with my book after I send it is up to them. All in all, an honest review is the best you can get.



 




There are other companies offering author services. Many of them are big business.

I spoke to author Lee Hall about his experiences with Book Bub.


“I would highly recommend Bookbub to other authors if they can get a deal with them and they are prepared to pay for the investment.”- Lee Hall


How long have you been writing?/ What is the name of your book/ books?

Currently I have 6 books published: Open Evening, Darke Blood, Cemetery House, Darke Awakening, The Teleporter and The Ghost Beside Me; the first four are part of a wider series.


How did you hear about the book review service being offered?

Well technically, it’s a book promotion site. Quite some years ago, while researching book marketing I cam across Bookbub which is a popular promotion sire.


What was your first impression?

First impression; their site is one of the better looking ones and professional, while also being easy to navigate.


Did you take the plunge?

I tried to take the plunge, but Bookbub is very selective. Eventually, they chose me and so I suppose we took the plunge together.


Which service did you use and why? How much did it cost?

I was offered a ‘Featured deal’ and tool it because it was all they were offering. The featured deal cost over $200. The promotion led to a lot of additional sales. For a week I sold books every day, which is a new personal best. I would highly recommend Bookbub to other authors if they can get a deal with them and they are prepared to pay for the investment. Offering book reviews is a big business opportunity. If it’s done reputably then I have no problem with paying someone to take the time to read a book, as long as their opinion is their own.


 



“I wanted my novels to be able to sit next to a traditionally published book and a buyer/ reader not be able to tell the difference.”- Tam Francis


Indie author Tam Francis also kindly agreed to offer the benefit of his experience.

Tam has been writing all of his life, but became more serious about his indie author career over the last 12 years.

Tam has published a number of books, including The Jitterbug Dress Series, Ghostoria: Vintage Tales of Fright, The Flapper Affair and Swing Shorts.


Which authors services have you used and why?

I hired a content editor who I met through Twitter. We connected through Twitter. We followed each other before I checked out her website. Candance Johnson of “Change it Up” provided content editing services for “The Girl in the Jitterbug Dress”.

I also hired a cover designer Karen Phillips to design all of my covers. A friend of mine introduced me to a designer, I checked out her website and talked to her on the phone.

I had tried creating my own cover. It was a disaster. In fact, I wrote a blog about the process and my first experience with a cover designer. I also didn’t want my covers to look indie. I’d seen them and they stood out as amateurish. I wanted my novels to be able to sit next to a traditionally published book and a buyer/ reader not be able to tell the difference.


What was your first impression?

I thought the content editor was expensive, but experienced, honest and thoughtful.

The cover designer was easy to work with, kind and accommodating.


How much did it cost?

Content editing was $800, Cover art was $350, Original illustration was $150


Did these services help you to achieve additional sales?

Hard to calculate, but one of the covers made honourable mentions in a cover contest for Historical Fiction Cover Pam Lecky’s Vintage Treasures 2018 and, although not a winner, in Joel Friedlander Indie cover contest, he gave praise for the deign of all the covers entered.

After edits from the content editing I advanced to the second round finalist for Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award 2013


Would you recommend author services to other writers?

If you have the money, yes. But I would now spend the money on proof reading because after I made the edits from the content editor, I missed typos. They’ve all been fixed, but it cost me a star on Amazon reviews early on. I wrote a blog recently about the Edit-shaming of indie authors and how there seems to be more scrutiny than traditionally published authors.


What is your impression of people who offer book reviews for a fee?

Nope. Unless it is a nominal fee, like a reading fee for a contest. Anything over $20 seems smarmy and exploitative. There are too many who review for free and I want honest reviews. Paying for reviews seems like a slippery slope. I cannot believe how much Kirkus reviews are and how that seems to be one of the standards in the industry and their reviews are far out of most indie authors budgets.

As for paying for other services: Do your homework, get recommendations and look at the work they’ve done, but if you have the money, it’s worth it for editing and cover design services. If you don’t have the money for a cover, seriously find the money or save up. Your cover is your number one selling tool. I’m a substitute teacher making minimum wage and I saved up the money. It’s worth it for a pro cover and typo free manuscript.



 


He ghosted me for a week!

Almost a week went by and nothing, not a jot. I contacted Daksh, he hadn’t read the book yet. After a few more days I tried again. I was told that my book was “Amazing” but that the review was with his editor.

“Have you read it all?” I asked.

“Yes Mam,” came the reply.

“Can I just ask… did you guess the end? With faith?” now let’s be clear, I wanted to throw a curveball. I wanted to know if he had actually read the book or if he was just saying he had.

“No, the end is really unpredictable,” came his reply.

“Which part did you find most surprising?” I asked. Now, the reason I asked this particular question is that nobody could answer that question unless they had actually read Chasing Butterflies. I wanted to know if these reviewers actually read the books or if they just give them a cursory glance. At this point he ghosted me for a week!



It was clear that the reviewer had not read the book!


On 1st March, 14 days after we agreed to a time frame of 5 to 7 days, Daksh posted his review. You can see the review above, but I warn you, it is dreadful. I’m a writer. I love words. I love the patterns they make and the way that they flow. I love the way my words can cast an image in someone else’s mind. When the words don’t flow, I find it painful. Clunky sentences that have no real meaning make me itch.


The review includes lines like “the author describes the full story line in a perfect manner and beautiful way.” Now, apart from being completely meaningless, that sentence has no flow.

My conclusion is that the reviewer did not read the book. He has reworded the blurb (very badly I must add!) and talked a little about the cover. I can't imagine how these sorts of services can do anything to raise the profile of authors and their books.


A few people have commented on the post, but I can’t see one of these who would actually be interested in my book. They really seem to be other influencers who are simply trying to raise their own profiles.


Where should authors spend their money?

I was interested in what other authors thought about the best way to spend your author budget.

I took to Twitter and asked the question “In your opinion which of these author services proved to be the best value for money?”

67% said Editing services,

22% said Book cover designers

11% said Facebook/ Amazon adds.




I also asked “Which of the following is most likely to make you want to buy a book?”

44% said the blurb

33% said the cover and 17% said the reviews.

One user replied with a comment saying that she previews the book on Amazon before buying.


What have I concluded?

Paid reviews can be dangerous and do nothing to raise the profile of your book. At best, you could be paying for a service that brings no additional sales, at worst you could be putting your Amazon account at risk.


There are credible companies out there who will write an honest review and help use that to raise the profile of your book, but they’re expensive.


If you really want to generate sales then you need to start with the fundamentals. You need to write a great book and it needs to be well-edited. There is a lot of competition out there. Mediocre books just won’t cut it in the competitive indie book market. Spend your budget wisely and do your research before shelling out your hard-earned cash.


Spend money on the things that will help to ensure that your book stands out. Cover design, editing, blurb writing may also help.


If someone has the time to spam hundreds of authors every day to offer paid reviews, then they’re probably not spending too much time actually reading and reviewing your work. If you are going to go down the route of paid reviews then use a reputable company.


By Nicole Thorne – 2nd March 2021

448 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Year of Covid

It's almost a full year since the UK went into the first national lockdown in order to reduce the spread of Covid 19. This time last year we were all speculating about the steps needed to curb the spr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page