top of page
Search

Radio Debut with Chat and Spin Radio

On Sunday 26th July I appeared on the radio for the very first time!


I had answered a Facebook post from Chat and Spin radio. They have a show where they play music and talk to authors about their books.


I really liked that concept, the idea of using that medium to help get books out there.


My slot was 9:55. I had been sent a few questions beforehand which was a relief.


I drafted some answers then went through them, reading out loud to my husband. I was trying to make it sound as though I wasn't reading, but it still did.


Eventually, he said "you know what the book is about. You've talked and written about it before, why don't you just talk about it?"


So I scrapped my paragraphs and made a few bullet points. There were some things I wanted to make sure I mentioned.


By 9:30 I was filled with apprehension. I had logged on to Skype ready and was waiting to be contacted.


I practised what I was going to say a few more times while I waited.


When the call came through I knew there was no going back. I answered with "hello" as bright and breezy as I could muster.


The DJ was lovely. He really put me at ease, he talked to me about what to expect and we chatted a little before we went on air. Then he put his headphones on and said "fifteen seconds".

Those fifteen seconds went by more slowly than I ever could have imagined. It felt as though the second hand of the clock was stuck.


Then he turned to face me on the screen and said: "on the line we have..."


"Hi, I'm Nicole Thorne from Merseyside in the UK"


I talked about Chasing Butterflies. I talked about Hope and how secretive she was about her past, about how having a miscarriage was a pivotal event that made her question the reality of her childhood. I talked about the dreams she had and how they caused her to realise that there was more to her truth than she knew. I explained that through a series of flashbacks, the reader gains an understanding of who Hope is and why she struggles to trust people.


There had been a second part to the first question. "Tell us about your book and what inspired you to write it"


Firstly I explained that I had always loved to write. I talked briefly about having a miscarriage myself. How writing about it helped me. I explained that I didn't want to write my story, so I spent a huge amount of time developing characters. That I tried to develop real characters. I tried to ensure that their reactions to various circumstances were realistic. I wanted characters that readers could empathise with.


I mentioned the prequel too. I said it was about Hope's mother and we get to understand her story.


The host then asked about me, this was entirely unexpected, but I told him I was a former teacher who had set up a little cafe a few years ago. I told him about my book exchange and the 'Donated by the Author' section.


At the end of the interview, we went off air and I was passed to another gentleman who invited me back in September! Oh wow! They congratulated me on a good interview which was really reassuring.


Would I do it again? Absolutely! In fact, I am doing in September! Watch this space!!


If you're a writer and you'd like a slot on chat and spin radio why not contact them?


Here is a link to the interview. My bit is towards the end, the last fifteen minutes of the night.



If you're an author who is interested in taking part why not contact them, details below.


If you love reading books by new indie authors then it's a great way to find out what's out there. They transmit live via the internet. People listen to the show all over the world!





A message from Chat and Spin Radio:


Chat And Spin Radio are an Internet Radio Station based in the UK. We Broadcast to half a million UK & International Listeners per week 24/7. We are on www.chatandspinradio.com We are looking for Book Authors, Writers, Artists, Illustrators, Businesses & Charities to come on the Radio Station over the Phone or by Skype / Facebook FREE PUBLICITY PROMOTION to get out to our Listeners while on Lockdown. Please email IAN JOHNSON on chatandspin@gmail.com for more information.

IAN JOHNSON PUBLICITY / ADVERTISING MANAGER CHAT AND SPIN RADIO UK WEBSITE- www.chatandspinradio.com FACEBOOK- www.facebook.com/chatandspin



61 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Year of Covid

It's almost a full year since the UK went into the first national lockdown in order to reduce the spread of Covid 19. This time last year we were all speculating about the steps needed to curb the spr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page