top of page
Search

Does anything taste quite as good as mint choc chip ice-cream?

The sharp taste of ice cold mint ice-cream

At first firm, but quickly melting in the hot summer sun

I lick the ice-cream before it disappears in a green melted heap

My fingers are sticky so I lick quickly, then there a chunk of cold, tasty chocolate

I savour it against my tongue and let it slowly dissolve

I lick the melting goo and close my eyes and remember

It tastes of happiness and lazy days, of summers that went on for ever

The flavour of space hoppers and Rubik's cubes and camping in the rain

Of running through the sand dunes before running home

Mint choc chip ice-cream may taste of other things

But for me it's happiness in a cone



I've always found my memories are strongly linked to taste, smell and music. Just a few bars of a song, or a particular taste can act like a time machine.


In Chasing Butterflies Hope finds that mint choc chip ice-cream evokes a very painful memory. Fortunately she has people around her who help her through.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Year of Covid

It's almost a full year since the UK went into the first national lockdown in order to reduce the spread of Covid 19. This time last year we were all speculating about the steps needed to curb the spr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page